Remove this ad

Lead

May 8 17 3:39 PM

Tags : :

Just a few things that I am unsure of right now,

If a unit with "Compulsory follow up" wins and pushes an enemy back, are morale tests taken after each attack? (so each party takes 2 tests?)  Does the victim of a caracole attack take a second morale test after being shot? (possibly retreating again?)

If a field gun is defeated in a fight, does it retreat?  Even thoughits movement is 0? 

If a regimental gun is defeated, does the entire gun move?  or just the crew, who would then have to rally, and move back to the gun's position to fire?

Do regimental guns/field guns also take a penalty for shooting over 12 inches away?

Does an officer who routs off of the table still roll on the casualty list on page 11 after the game?  Or did they just run away to fight another day and return for the next game?

This last question is for both this game as well as Lion Rampant,  Does a unit that has taken casualties from shooting retreat?  even if they pass their morale/courage test?

I may think of more questions later, but thats all for now.

 

Last Edited By: ConCon May 8 17 4:01 PM. Edited 1 time

Quote    Reply   
Remove this ad
Remove this ad

#2 [url]

May 12 17 2:48 PM

Not all of these have come up in our games but I can tell you what we have done for some of them.

For field and regimental guns, a defeated crew retreats and leaves the gun behind. If they are wavering they must rally in order to return to the gun.

After a compusory follow-up fight, we take a further morale test.

We have not imposed a penalty for guns shooting over 12".

 

Quote    Reply   

#3 [url]

May 13 17 4:27 AM

Good morning

here comes some answers for your questions:

Q: If a unit with "Compulsory follow up" wins and pushes an enemy back, are morale tests taken after each attack? (so each party takes 2 tests?)

A: If a unit have taken casualties during the Attack they take Morale tests, so it can indeed be that both units has taken 2 test when the attack sequence are finished. Please remember that only units that has taken any losses during each round of attack will make a Morale test as stated at “Ending Attacks”, page 40 in the rules.


Q: Does the victim of a caracole attack take a second morale test after being shot? (Possibly retreating again?)

A: I assume this question referring to the possibly Attack by the unit performing the Caracole action if they manage to get their target unit to Waver. Yes, after the Attack either of the Units involved may take Morale roll if they took any losses as for a usual “Ending Attacks” at page 40 in the rules.


Q: If a field gun is defeated in a fight, does it retreat? Even though its movement is 0?

A: No the gun in its self does not move, but the crew will retreat the 3” that need to be between units after an Attack ends. In a following turn the Crew may Rally and then return to the gun with Move actions.


Q: If a regimental gun is defeated, does the entire gun move? or just the crew, who would then have to rally, and move back to the gun's position to fire?

A: No the gun in its self does not move, but the crew will retreat the 3” that need to be between units after an Attack ends. In a following turn the Crew may Rally and then return to the gun with Move actions.


Q: Do regimental guns/field guns also take a penalty for shooting over 12 inches away?

A: Yes they do.


Q: Does an officer who routs off of the table still roll on the casualty list on page 11 after the game? Or did they just run away to fight another day and return for the next game?

A: As a routed unit count as a Casualty, the Officer have to roll on the “OFFICER CASUALTES” list.


Q: Does a unit that has taken casualties from shooting retreat? even if they pass their morale/courage test?

A: No they do not. As long as they pass the Morale test they stay in place. See page 36 in the rules “ENDING SHOOTING”

Hope the answers have helped you out.

Quote    Reply   
Add Reply

Quick Reply

bbcode help